DWI/DUI Attorney Serving New York State
What Are the Penalties for A DWI/DUI in NY?
The state of New York takes drunk driving—officially known as driving under the influence (DUI) and driving while intoxicated (DWI)—very seriously. Once you are stopped by law enforcement and submit to a Breathalyzer test to gauge your blood alcohol concentration (BAC) level and that level is 0.08% or higher, you are considered to be driving under the influence in the State of New York.
A DUI/DWI conviction seriously affects your quality of life. If convicted, you could face heavy penalties that include:
Fines, fees, and recurring surcharges
Ignition interlock device
The severity of the penalties depends on the level of alcohol or drugs found in your blood and whether this is your first offense or a repeat offense. Fines can rise as high as $10,000. Penalties may also include loss of license for up to 18 months and prison terms of up to seven years.
Can I Be Charged with a DWI/DWAI for Driving After Taking Prescription Drugs?
New York’s DWI/DWAI ( Driving while ability impaired) laws and penalties are outlined in the state’s traffic statutes. This law does not limit the definition of DWI to alcohol, but states “no person shall operate a motor vehicle while the person’s ability to operate such a motor vehicle is impaired by the use of a drug.” The law provides a wide interpretation of which prescription drugs qualify as intoxicating.
Police may arrest you for driving while taking such legal prescription drugs as:
Pain relievers (such as Oxycontin, codeine)
Consequences of an Underage DUI Conviction in New York
Like any driver convicted of driving while intoxicated, underage drivers can also face consequences under New York’s Zero Tolerance laws and policies. The consequences may differ from those that other drivers might face—however, depending on the circumstances you may face the same penalties as someone who is 21 years of age or older.
Below are some of the penalties that underage drivers might face if convicted of a DUI:
Driver’s license suspension: One of the most common penalties facing DUI offenders of any age is the suspension of your driving privileges.
Community service: A judge can require that you perform a designated number of community service hours.
Alcohol and highway safety classes: You may also have to participate in an alcohol education and highway safety program.
Experienced Legal Help Is Your Best Resource for DWI Charges
At The Law Office of Jonathan B. Ripps, we defend DUI and DWI charges for individuals throughout the Rockland County area and the rest of New York State. Simply reach out to attorney Jonathan B. Ripps, Rockland County DWI/DUI attorney today to find out more about how we can help you!
This is a time when you need a local lawyer with substantial experience in successfully defending people against DWI charges in New York, and particularly Rockland County. Attorney Jonathan B. Ripps has handled numerous cases and appeals. We know how to investigate the use of the breath tests to question whether it was administered properly. We know how to determine whether all legal procedures were properly followed. With over 20 years of experience, including having served as an Assistant District Attorney in the state, we know just how to anticipate the case against you.